Lausanne, April 12, 2010

Announcement from the CECAM Director

Following the call sent out by the CECAM Director on October 20, 2009, we have received many and high-level nominations for the 2010 Berni J. Alder CECAM prize.

The selection committee (Joan Adler, Mike P. Allen, Stefano Baroni, Paul J. Durham, Daan Frenkel, János Kertész, Michael L. Klein, Joaquin Marro, Evert-Jan Meijer, Francois Peeters) came to the final decision on the prize winner last Friday, April 9 2010, during a meeting chaired by Wanda Andreoni (CECAM Director) and co-chaired by Peter H. Borcherds (Chair of the Computational Physics Group of the European Physical Society), held at the CECAM Headquarters, EPF-Lausanne.

The prize was awarded, with unanimous endorsement, to
Roberto Car and Michele Parrinello

"For their invention and development of an ingenious method that, by unifying approaches based on quantum mechanics and classical dynamics, allows computer experiments to uncover otherwise inaccessible aspects of physical and biological sciences. Their work catalyzes cooperation among different scientific communities leading to a deeper understanding of nature."

The award will be presented at the Conference on Computational Physics (CCP2010), Trondheim, Norway, June 23-26, 2010 (