CECAM/Psi-k Research Conference on Multi-scale Modeling from First-Principles

Location : Cap Roig de Platja d’Aro, Spain
September 8, 2013 – September 13, 2013


The multi-scale character of molecular simulations is intrinsic in its nature itself as one has to extract from a computation extending over microscopic time and space scales sufficient information to compute properties usually defined at the macroscopic level. However, in the last twenty years or so, one has witnessed several methodological progresses which have allowed to extend, sometimes considerably, the range of scales of the microscopic systems computed in order to obtain properties or reproduce processes. Those methods are grouped under the name of multi-scale methods and have already led to a considerable development of computational materials sciences. 
We like to run a conference of the style as know from Gordon Research Conferences, aiming at a size of 100 people (not more than 110). Participants will have the possibility to present their work in poster sessions.

Details for the conference organization are available on the conference web site


Christoph Dellago (University of Vienna)


Raymond Kapral (University of Toronto)


Karsten Albe (Darmstadt University of Technology)
Joerg Behler (University of Goettingen)
Claudia Draxl (Humboldt University Berlin)
Gerhard Gompper (Research Center Jülich)
Kurt Kremer (Max Planck Institut for Polymer Research, Mainz)
Jörg Neugebauer (Max-Planck Institute for Iron Research)
Karsten Reuter (Technical University Munich)


Giovanni Ciccotti (University of Rome La Sapienza)


Alberto Castro (University of Zaragoza)
Pep Español (National University of Distance Education)
Modesto Orozco (University of Barcelona and Institute for Research in Biomedicine)


William Curtin (EPFL, Lausanne)
Ignacio Pagonabarraga (CECAM EPFL)
Michele Parrinello (Swiss Federal Institute of Technology Zurich, Lugano)

United Kingdom

Ali Alavi (University of Cambridge)
Emilio Artacho (Cavendish Laboratory, University of Cambridge)
Dominic Tildesley (Southampton University)


Ron Elber (UT Austin)
Graeme Henkelman (University of Texas Austin)
Dion Vlachos (Department of Chemical Engineering. University of Delaware)

Coming soon