CECAM/CSM/IRTG School 2018: Machine Learning in Scientific Computing

September 10, 2018 to September 14, 2018
Location : Best Western Hotel, Nierstein, Germany


  • Karin Everschor-Sitte (Johannes Gutenberg Universität Mainz, Germany)
  • Tristan Bereau (Max Planck Institute for Polymer Research, Mainz, Germany)
  • Susanne Gerber (Institute for Developmental Biology and Neurobiology, Gutenberg University Mainz, Germany)
  • Friederike Schmid (Johannes Gutenberg University, Mainz, Institute of Physics, Germany)
  • Giovanni Settanni (Johannes Gutenberg University, Mainz, Germany)
  • Marialore Sulpizi (University of Mainz, Germany)
  • Michael Wand (Johannes Gutenberg University Mainz, Germany)


  • Giovanni Settanni (University of Mainz, Germany)
  • Supports





       Mainz School

       SFB/TRR 173 SPIN+X


    The school is aimed to provide an extensive introduction to machine learning including hands-on tutorials and to showcase important real case applications in the fields of computational physics/materials science, computational biology/neuroscience/computer science. The school will take place at the Best Western Hotel in Nierstein, Germany (near Mainz) from Sep 10 to 14 2018. It is organized by the integrated research training group of the Collaborative research center TRR146 "Multiscale Simulation Methods in Soft Matter Physics" (CRC-TRR146 and the Center for Computational Sciences in Mainz (CSM and supported by the ETN-NANOTRANS (, the graduate school of excellence MAINZ and the SFB/TRR 173 SPIN+X ( The school is directed both to postdocs and PhD students of the supporting institutions and to external attendees. The expected number of attendees is 50.

    Confirmed Lecturers

    Tristan Bereau, Max Planck Institute for Polymer Research, Mainz
    Nataša Conrad, Zuse Institute Berlin, Germany
    Gabor Csanyi, University of Cambridge, UK
    Alessandro De Vita, King's College London, UK
    Julie Grollier, CNRS-Thales lab, Palaiseau, France
    Illia Horenko, Universita della svizzera italiana, Lugano
    Christian Hundt,  Johannes Gutenberg University Mainz, Germany
    Alpha Lee, University of Cambridge, UK
    Jakob Macke, Technical University Munich, Germany
    Alexandre Tkatchenko, University of Luxembourg
    Michael Wand, Johannes Gutenberg University Mainz, Germany

    Applications to attend the school can be submitted through the CECAM website (  The school organization may provide support for accepted applicants, where necessary,  to cover accommodation expenses.