1st CP2K Tutorial: Enabling the Power of Imagination in MD Simulations.

February 9, 2009 to February 13, 2009
Location : CECAM-ETHZ, Zurich, Switzerland
   Visa requirements


  • Teodoro Laino (IBM Research - Zurich, Switzerland)
  • Juerg Hutter (University of Zurich, Switzerland)
  • Marcella Iannuzzi (University of Zurich, Switzerland)





<p>CP2K is a suite of modules, collecting a variety of molecular simulation methods at different levels of accuracy, from ab-initio DFT to classical Hamiltonians, passing through semi-empirical NDDO approximation. It is used routinely for predicting energies, molecular structures, vibrational frequencies of molecular systems, reaction mechanisms, and ideally suited for performing molecular dynamics studies. The CP2K tutorial aims to introduce researchers in the field of molecular simulations to the broad collection of computational tools implemented within the CP2K program package, and to encourage modular, flexible, and problem oriented thinking while using them. Ideally the participating researchers would then teach less experienced people in their respective delegating groups. The number of participants is restricted to a maximum of 20 attendees. Selection will be performed on the basis of the personal curriculum. A working knowledge of UNIX/Linux systems is mandatory. A good reference point for the participants' background is the content of the CECAM School MolSim2009. There is no participation fee and partial support will be available for selected attendees (more details regarding the financial support will follow upon reviews of our selected sponsors). DEADLINE FOR SUBSCRIPTION IS JANUARY 12, 2009 Applications, complete of a motivation letter and a short CV, can be submitted through the CECAM website: . An forum has been opened at the URL:, in order to facilitate the exchange of information and the sharing of experiences during and after the tutorial. Lecturers / TAs include: Rachel Glaves, Manuel Guidon, Minghsun Ho, Juerg Hutter, Marcella Iannuzzi, Teodoro Laino, Matthias Krack, I-Feng William Kuo, Fawzi Roberto Mohamed.</p>