Berni J. Alder CECAM Prize

The Berni J. Alder CECAM Prize recognizes exceptional contributions to the field of microscopic simulation of matter. The prize is meant to honour an individual scientist; exceptionally it can be awarded to at most three scientists having equally contributed to the specific topic for which the prize is granted. This is the most prestigious European prize for computer simulations in condensed matter physics/chemistry, statistical physics and physical chemistry. The 5000 Euros prize, awarded every three years, was originally created in 1999.

2019 – Sauro Succi

The Berni J. Alder CECAM Prize for 2019 has been awarded to Prof. Sauro Succi, Italian Institute of Technology, Center for Life Nanosciences at La Sapienza in  Rome. The award ceremony will take place on September 11  2019 at EPF-Lausanne, Switzerland.

2016 – David M. Ceperley and Eberhard K. U. Gross

The Berni J. Alder CECAM Prize for 2016 will be jointly awarded to Professor David M Ceperley, Department of Physics, University of Illinois at Urbana-Champaign and to Professor Hardy Gross, Director of the Max Planck Institute of Microstructure Physics, Halle on November 23 2016, EPFL, Lausanne, Switzerland.

2013 – Herman J.C. Berendsen and Jean-Pierre Hansen

Both these scientists have made outstanding contributions to the developments in molecular dynamics and related simulation methods for understanding the properties of materials ranging from simple and complex liquids and solids to proteins, ionic liquids and plasmas.

2010 – Roberto Car and Michele Parrinello

For their invention and development of an ingenious method that, by unifying approaches based on quantum mechanics and classical dynamics, allows computer experiments to uncover otherwise inaccessible aspects of physical and biological sciences. Their work catalyzes cooperation among different scientific communities leading to a deeper understanding of nature

2007 – Daan Frenkel

The prize was awarded during CCP2007, held in Brussels, Belgium, September 5-8, 2007.

2004 – Mike Klein

At the occasion of the CCP 2004 conference held in Genova, a ceremony took place for the award of the 2004 Berni J. Alder CECAM prize to professor Mike Klein. Michel Mareschal, CECAM director recalled the history of the prize and the importance it has taken in the last years

2001 – Kurt Binder

Professor Kurt Binder from the University of Mainz was awarded the Berni J. Alder CECAM prize on September 6th, 2001, at the Conference on Computational Physics (CCP 2001) in Aachen, for pioneering the development of the Monte Carlo method as a quantitative tool in Statistical Physics and for catalyzing its application in many areas of physical research.

1999 – Giovanni Ciccotti

Giovanni Ciccotti has made pioneering contributions to molecular dynamics: among other methods, we cite the non-equilibrium subtraction technique to study transport phenomena, the method of holonomic constraints