Berni J. Alder CECAM Prize

The Berni J. Alder CECAM Prize recognizes exceptional contributions to the field of microscopic simulation of matter. The prize is meant to honour an individual scientist; exceptionally it can be awarded to at most three scientists having equally contributed to the specific topic for which the prize is granted. The prize, created in 1999, is awarded every three years.

2022-Kurt Kremer

Kurt Kremer has made exceptional contributions to the microscopic simulation of polymers, setting the standards for using numerical simulation to probe conceptual issues in polymer physics and establishing it as an indispensable tool in materials science.

2019 – Sauro Succi

For pioneering the Lattice-Boltzmann method and turning it into an overarching framework for kinetic physics phenomena.

2016 – David M. Ceperley and Eberhard K. U. Gross

For their groundbreaking contributions to the field of electronic structure calculations in the areas of quantum Monte Carlo and time-dependent density functional theory.

2013 – Herman J.C. Berendsen and Jean-Pierre Hansen

For outstanding contributions to the developments in molecular dynamics and related simulation methods for understanding the properties of materials ranging from simple and complex liquids and solids to proteins, ionic liquids and plasmas.

2010 – Roberto Car and Michele Parrinello

For their invention and development of an ingenious method that, by unifying approaches based on quantum mechanics and classical dynamics, allows computer experiments to uncover otherwise inaccessible aspects of physical and biological sciences.

2007 – Daan Frenkel

The prize was awarded during CCP2007, held in Brussels, Belgium, September 5-8, 2007.

2004 – Mike Klein

For his leadership in the development of constant-temperature Molecular Dynamics, path integral simulations, extended-Lagrangian methods and multiple-timestep Molecular Dynamics, and for his important contributions to the numerical study of molecular solids and liquids, hydrogen-bonded liquids, chain molecules, self-assembled monolayers and ion channels and biological membranes.

2001 – Kurt Binder

For pioneering the development of the Monte Carlo method as a quantitative tool in Statistical Physics and for catalyzing its application in many areas of physical research.

1999 – Giovanni Ciccotti

For his has made pioneering contributions to molecular dynamics, including the non-equilibrium subtraction technique to study transport phenomena, and constrained molecular dynamics.